A Very Special Treat

IMG_5528

I love this time of the year, and not just for the weather, the picnics, and the overall happier mood from everyone around me. One of the things I always look forward to are the fresh desserts and fruit that there are around this time. I love to have fresh fruit with dessert, probably because it’s the ultimate way to make myself not feel guilty for having fattening food.

Having bought an abundance of strawberries, this obviously called for some creative preparation. I was always fond of mixing them with fresh cream, blending them into an ice cream or eating them with pancakes. This year I wanted to try something new. As I have just bought a new waffle maker I thought I should give it a try and make waffles with strawberries.

IMG_5538

Ingredients:

2 cups plain flour

1 cup chocolate chips

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 2/3 cups milk

1/3 cup unsalted butter melted

2 eggs beaten

Method:

Mix the dry ingredients together.

Melt butter and leave to cool.

Add milk and butter to the dry mixture.

Add eggs.

Pour into the waffle iron, and cook until firm.

These glorious treats ended up being so delicious that I could not resist not having an extra portion. They can be served with fresh strawberries drizzled with maple syrup, honey, or even fresh cream to make it even more special!

IMG_5525IMG_5558

Leave a Reply

