Food Journal: Sweet Potato, Mushrooms & Pancetta

I had one of those days when I had absolutely no idea of what I wanted to cook. I was tired, so I didn’t want to make something that would take ages, I was also in the mood for some comfort food. At the green grocer’s I spotted sweet potato. I had pancetta and mushrooms at home… I was getting some ideas 🙂 After a google search on how to pan fry potatoes, I found a couple of recipes that suggest frying them in butter and brown sugar. This sounded a bit too much, especially when some recipes recommended 2 cups of brown sugar. I only added 1 teaspoon with mine, the potatoes are sweet enough!

This recipe serves 2, and here’s what you need:

1 large sweet potato

chopped pancetta (for 2)

Around 6 large mushrooms

1 medium onion

Grated Parmigiano Reggiano

2 Eggs

Dried Rosemary

Salt & Pepper

Method:

Bring a large pot of water to the boil. Add roughly chopped sweet potatoes (do not leave whole otherwise it will take longer to cook through).

In the meantime, start cooking onion and mushrooms in a bit of butter.

Once a fork can easily go through the potatoes, remove from the pot, chop into smaller chunks and add to the onion & pancetta mixture.

Add a teaspoon of brown sugar on top of the potatoes, give it a stir, then add the pancetta, salt and pepper.

Cook the mixture on medium heat until the pancetta is done.

When it’s cooked through, serve with a fried runny egg on top and grated Parmigiano. You could also serve this with toasted baguette or any sort of bread but it’s filling enough on its own.

I also love to plate these kinds of comfort foods in small terracotta dishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

