Bone Shaped Biscuits

IMG_5151

When I saw this sweet little bone shaped cookie cutter set I immediately knew I had to have it. I could imagine how good the different dog cookie recipes would look. It was an impulse e-bay buy, and as quickly as I bought the set, I also quickly forgot about it. That is until I received them in the mail.

I decided to make this particular recipe, because it is quick to make and does not require a lot of preparation. Lately I am being really lazy to wash the dishes, so the amount of preparation actually makes a difference for me.

This particular recipe makes use of carob powder, which can be found in every health food section. I like to use carob powder because, first of all it is safe for dogs, and it is also a good replacement for the chocolate flavour which they (and me) adore so much. This recipe does not include anything which is fattening such as butter, as I do not like to introduce such ingredients to my dogs diet. The reason why I always use whole wheat for dogs is that its much easier for them to digest, while also being the healthier option.

Ingredients (Makes 20)

1 egg lightly beaten

1 tablespoon carob powder

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup milk

1 cup whole wheat flour

Method

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix dry ingredients together. Make a well in the centre. Add egg and milk and mix well. Knead well into a ball. On a heavy floured surface roll open and cut with the cutter. Place on a baking tray lined with baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes.

And that’s it. Now wait for them to cool and then give one to your dog, who has definitely been lurking in the kitchen for the last 15 minutes.

IMG_5143

IMG_5146

IMG_5152

IMG_5174

IMG_5175

IMG_5189

Leave a Reply

